Leadership Circle and Donors

In 2010, Portage Animal Protective League established Leadership Circle. Membership is granted to donors who provide financial support to Portage APL by contributing $1,000 or more annually.

Contributions from Leadership Circle members help nearly a thousand animals who come to the shelter each year because they have been injured, abused, surrendered, or abandoned. These animals receive food, shelter, and medical care for as long as needed until each adoptable animal finds a “forever home.” Leadership Circle funds also support humane investigations. Reports of abandonment, cruelty, and neglect reach into the thousands. Contributions are also used to educate the public about the responsibilities of pet ownership and to offer low-cost spay and neuter clinics that help reduce pet overpopulation.

Our accomplishments are significant but our work is not done, and we face continuing challenges. We succeed primarily because of donations from the community. The need for resources is constant, and Leadership Circle members make the difference in our ability to maintain these critical services.

Portage APL speaks for the animals who have no voice. Your decision to join Leadership Circle will help ensure that their needs are met. Renewing your membership each year will make a powerful statement about your commitment to help the injured, unwanted, or abused animals in Portage County.

Leadership Circle Membership

© Become a member of Leadership Circle by contributing a total of $1,000 or more within a calendar year. Members are recognized throughout the following year.

© Maintain Leadership Circle Sustaining Member status by continuing to donate at the $1,000 level during subsequent years.

© Receive additional recognition after each five years of membership in Leadership Circle.  This recognition is granted to those who have continued to donate at the $1,000 level over longer periods of time.

© As a member of Leadership Circle, renew your yearly commitment to provide financial support, attend Portage APL special events, share your ideas with the Executive Director, contribute time and talents if you choose, and encourage community leaders and other citizens throughout Portage County to support the mission and goals of Portage APL.

Benefits for Leadership Circle Members 

© Recognition and induction at the Portage APL Annual “Paws to Honor” Dinner

© Certificate and special pin designating your Leadership Circle membership status

© Acknowledgment in Tattle Tails and other Portage APL publications

© Communications with the Executive Director and an invitation to tour Portage APL shelter

2019 Leadership Circle Members

Ten-Year Sustaining Members

Phyllis J. Baker

Tom & Mary Cochran

Eileen Hogan

David and Maureen Kemmerle

Sandra Krutz

James and Kathryn Lamb

Bruce and Paula McBrian

Nancy Mitchell

Wendell Parr

Five-Year Sustaining Members

Wendy Bellinger

Pat Bingham

Karen & Thurl Carmany

Lou & KC Carrigg

Christine Coiner and Dr. Deborah Grant

Mike and Jean Coss

Helen D’Ianni

Erica Eckert & David Taylor

Tracey & Michael Farrell

Joseph & Vicki Ferrara

Karen Fox & Rick Stump

Janet Hallaran

Barbara Hodous

Mary Ann & Elwood Howitt

Dean & Patricia Keller

Robert & Jennifer Larson

Nick Leacoma

Patrick & Stephanie Beal Madonio

Alan & Judith Mail

Alan & Louise Mellott

John & Mary Perry

Eileen Petridis

William Robenstine

Murali Shanker

Dr. Alan W. Steggles

Pam Valentine

Victoria Vincent

Josephine Wardle

Wade & Michelle Williams

Anne Wirth

Barbara Ziegler

Sustaining Members

Timothy and Susan Bartlebaugh

Ken & Elaine L. Bidinger

Charles & Janet Brust

Linda Bunyan

Ronald Cantu

Jerry and Linda Craver

Darlene Doolittle Courson

Joan Dauber

Laura Davis & Tom Clapper

Karen Doseck

Aurora Fussner

Nancy Geiger

Maureen Haska

Penny Hughes

Treva Jones

Charles and Nancy Madonio

Fred Martin

Mary Kate Mead and Mary Devanzo

Judy Mink

Catherine Mueller

Kim Paulus

Annette Powers

Deborah Saito

Donald Sparks

Lori Stenger

Robin and Sharon Swaney

Susan and Ronald Trace

Mark and Erika Vlacovsky

Maureen Wegenek

Laurel Wilcox

Ron & Angela Woods

Mrs. Beth A. Wunderlich

New 2019 Members

Linda Clifford

Gay Marie Goden

Carol Hughes

Catherine Schellhammer

Patricia Shipp

Judith and Pete Stephens-Lorenz

Thomas and Tonya Trexler

Lifetime Members (before 2018)

Ted and Bev Bickley

Cheryl Casper

Kim Hardesty

Eileen Hogan

Sandra Jesionek